Liberal and Fine Arts Department

The basic goal of the Liberal and Fine Arts Department is to support students in developing their imagination, creativity, and analytical thinking skills by providing them with the knowledge necessary to achieve this. All staff members strive to expand the abilities of the students in self-expression and self-evaluation along with their critical thinking and communication skills. As students gain multicultural perspectives and social awareness of the world, they become independent, rational, and proactive citizens.

Zornitsa Semkova Ph.D.

Department Chair / History Teacher / IB Program Coordinator
z.semkova@acsbg.org
  • Doctor of Philosophy, Major History, Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

  • Master of Arts, Major History

  • Professional Qualification Historian and Teacher in History

  • Specialization in Modern and Contemporary History

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Nia Decheva

Art Teacher
n.decheva@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts, Major Textile

  • Professional Qualification Artist, Teacher in Arts, Pedagogy and Methods of Teaching

  • National Academy of Art in Sofia, Bulgaria

Zhanina Zdravkova

Geography Teacher
z.zdravkova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts, Major Geography and History

  • University of Veliko Turnovo “St. Cyril and St Methodius”, Bulgaria

  • Requalification: Information Technologies

  • Qualification Specialist and Teacher in Geography, First qualification degree

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Wendy Thompson

History Teacher
w.thompson@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts, Major History

  • University of Colorado Boulder

  • Master of Arts, Major Education

  • Western State Colorado University

Yoanna Ninova

History Teacher / 12th Grade Leader
y.ninova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts, Major Qualification and redirection of the workforces

  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major Past and Present of South-Eastern Europe

  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major Cultural Studies

  • Professional Qualification Teacher in History

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Christopher Van Swol

History Teacher
c.vanswol@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts, Major History

  • Minor: Political Science

  • University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, USA

Vasil Ninov Ph. D.

TOK Teacher
v.ninov@acsbg.org
  • Ph.D. in Medieval History

  • Master of Arts, Major in Medieval History

  • Bachelor of Arts, Major in Medieval History

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

David Peev

Philosophy Teacher
d.peev@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts, Major Philosophy

  • Professional Qualification Teacher in Philosophy

  • Bachelor of Arts, Major Philosophy

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Stiliana Vodenicharova

Music Teacher / 9th Grade Dean
s.vodenicharova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts Major, Music Pedagogy

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

  • Bachelor of Arts, Major Jazz and Pop Singing

  • National Academy of Music „Pancho Vladigerov”, Sofia

Taylor Baldwin

History and Philosophy Teacher
t.baldwin@acsbg.org
  • Master of Teaching

  • Ontario Institute for Studies in Education

  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: Anthropology

  • Trent University

Tsvetelina Mitsowa

Philosophy Teacher
t.mitsowa@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor in Philosophy

  • Sofia University “St. Kliment Okhridski”

Sandy Young

History Teacher
s.young@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Majors: English, Broadcast Journalism

  • Minor in History

  • Louisiana State University and A&M College

Asya Paskaleva PH.D.

Philosophy Teacher
a.paskaleva@acsbg.org
  • Doctor of Philosophy

  • Major: Applied Philosophy

  • Bowling Green State University, Ohio, USA

  • Areas of Expertise: Moral Philosophy, Biomedical Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy

  • Master of Arts in Philosophy

  • Professional Qualification: Philosopher and Teacher of Philosophy, Psychology and Law

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Miglena Zhecheva

GEOGRAPHY TEACHER
m.zhecheva@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts

  • Major Geography

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”

  • Professional Qualifications: Climatologist, Teacher in Geography, History and English

Veneta Hinkovska

History Intern Teacher
v.hinkovska@acsbg.org
  • Master’s Degree: International Organizations and Multilateral Diplomacy

  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: History

  • Minor: Past and Present of South-Eastern Europe

  • Professional Qualification: Teacher of History

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Courses

Arts – Grades 8 and 9

Music – Grades 8 and 9

Physical, Human, and World Geography – Grades 9 and 10

Geography of Bulgaria – Grades 11 and 12

Modern World History – Grades 9 and 10   

20th Century World History – Grade 11

Bulgarian History – Grade 12

Bulgarian History Profile – Grade 12

Philosophy – Grades 8, 9, and 11

Ethics and Law – Grade 10

Civic Education: Man and the World – Grade 12

IB Theory of Knowledge – Grades 11 and 12

IB Economics – Grades 11 and 12

IB History – Grades 11 and 12

US History – International Students Grades 9 and 10

Arts Electives – Grades 9, 10, 11, and 12

Music Electives – Grades 9, 10, 11, and 12

AP Macroeconomics Elective - Grades 11, and 12

Healthy Living – Grades 9, 10, 11, and 12

Geography Champions - Olympiad Prep – Grades 9, 10, 11, and 12