Liberal and Fine Arts Department

Zornitsa Semkova, Ph.D.

Department Chair / History Teacher / IB Program Coordinator
z.semkova@acsbg.org
  • Doctor of Philosophy, Major History, Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

  • Master of Arts, Major History

  • Professional Qualification Historian and Teacher in History

  • Specialization in Modern and Contemporary History

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Nia Decheva

Art Teacher
n.decheva@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts, Major Textile

  • Professional Qualification Artist, Teacher in Arts, Pedagogy and Methods of Teaching

  • National Academy of Art in Sofia, Bulgaria

Wendy Thompson

History Teacher
w.thompson@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts, Major History

  • University of Colorado Boulder

  • Master of Arts, Major Education

  • Western State Colorado University

Yoanna Ninova

History Teacher / 12th Grade Leader
y.ninova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts, Major Qualification and redirection of the workforces

  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major Past and Present of South-Eastern Europe

  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major Cultural Studies

  • Professional Qualification Teacher in History

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Christopher Van Swol

GEOGRAPHY Teacher / 9th Grade Dean
c.vanswol@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts, Major History

  • Minor: Political Science

  • University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, USA

Vasil Ninov, Ph. D.

TOK Teacher
v.ninov@acsbg.org
  • Ph.D. in Medieval History

  • Master of Arts, Major in Medieval History

  • Bachelor of Arts, Major in Medieval History

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

David Peev

Philosophy Teacher
d.peev@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts, Major Philosophy

  • Professional Qualification Teacher in Philosophy

  • Bachelor of Arts, Major Philosophy

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Stiliana Vodenicharova

Music Teacher / 9th Grade Dean
s.vodenicharova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts Major, Music Pedagogy

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

  • Bachelor of Arts, Major Jazz and Pop Singing

  • National Academy of Music „Pancho Vladigerov”, Sofia

Taylor Baldwin

History and Philosophy Teacher
t.baldwin@acsbg.org
  • Master of Teaching

  • Ontario Institute for Studies in Education

  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: Anthropology

  • Trent University

Asya Paskaleva PH.D.

Philosophy Teacher
a.paskaleva@acsbg.org
  • Doctor of Philosophy

  • Major: Applied Philosophy

  • Bowling Green State University, Ohio, USA

  • Areas of Expertise: Moral Philosophy, Biomedical Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy

  • Master of Arts in Philosophy

  • Professional Qualification: Philosopher and Teacher of Philosophy, Psychology and Law

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Miglena Zhecheva

GEOGRAPHY TEACHER / 10th Grade Dean
m.zhecheva@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts

  • Major Geography

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”

  • Professional Qualifications: Climatologist, Teacher in Geography, History and English

Veneta Hinkovska

History and Entrepreneurship Teacher / 11th Grade dean
v.hinkovska@acsbg.org
  • Master’s Degree: International Organizations and Multilateral Diplomacy

  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: History

  • Minor: Past and Present of South-Eastern Europe

  • Professional Qualification: Teacher of History

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

  • Entrepreneurship: Launching an Innovative Business

  • University of Maryland

Ivaylo Lozanchev

History Teacher
i.lozanchev@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: Past and Present of Southeastern Europe

  • Professional Qualification Teacher in History

  • Sofia University “St. Kliment Ohridski”

Nevena Georgieva, Ph. D.

Philosophy Teacher
nevena.georgieva@acsbg.org
  • PhD in Philosophy taught in English "Ethical and Social Problems of the Artificial Intelligence"

  • Master of Arts, Political Science

  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: Philosophy

  • Sofia University "St. Kliment Ohridski"

  • Professional Qualification: Teacher in Philosophy

Grant Gunther

History Teacher / Golden Lions Block Leader
g.gunther@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Majors: History and Secondary Education

  • Johnson State College, Johnson, VT USA

  • Associate of Arts

  • Major: Sports Management

  • Champlain College, Burlington, VT USA

  • National Geographic Certified Educator

Ian Yeats

Geography Teacher
I.Yeats@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Science

  • Major in Geological Sciences

  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major in Economics

  • The University of Texas at Austin

Courses

Arts – Grades 8 and 9

Music – Grades 8 and 9

Physical, Human, and World Geography – Grades 9 and 10

Geography of Bulgaria – Grades 11 and 12

Modern World History – Grades 9 and 10   

20th Century World History – Grade 11

Bulgarian History – Grade 12

Bulgarian History Profile – Grade 12

Philosophy – Grades 8, 9, and 11

Ethics and Law – Grade 10

Civic Education: Man and the World – Grade 12

IB Theory of Knowledge – Grades 11 and 12

IB Economics – Grades 11 and 12

IB History – Grades 11 and 12

US History – International Students Grades 9 and 10

Arts Electives – Grades 9, 10, 11, and 12

Music Electives – Grades 9, 10, 11, and 12

AP Macroeconomics Elective - Grades 11, and 12

Healthy Living – Grades 9, 10, 11, and 12

Geography Champions - Olympiad Prep – Grades 9, 10, 11, and 12