English Language and Literature Department

The English Language and Literature Department has developed a grades 9-12 college preparatory curriculum that focuses on critical reading, literary analysis, and writing. Additionally, students at all grade levels are challenged to improve their fluency in English. We want our students to become better readers, to think critically, to improve their writing both academic and non-academic, to enjoy their classes, and to be fully engaged.

Iain Flannery

Department Chair / English Language and Literature Teacher
i.flannery@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major English, Minor Religious Studies

  • Stonehill College, Massachusetts, USA

  • Master of Education

  • University of Notre Dame, South Bend, Indiana, USA

Tim Ward

English Language and Literature Teacher
t.ward@acsbg.org
  • Master of Philosophy in English Language and Literature 1660-1800, University of Oxford, UK

  • Master of Arts in Applied Linguistics, University of Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

  • Post graduate certificate in Education in English and P.E., University of Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

  • Bachelor of Arts with Honors

  • Bachelor of Arts in English Language and Literature, University of Oxford, UK

Diana Nesheva

English Language and Literature Teacher
d.nesheva@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts, Major English Language and Literature

  • Professional Qualification Teacher in English Language and Literature

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Susan White

English Language and Literature Teacher
s.white@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Science, Major Education

  • Lesley College, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

Gerrit White

English Language and Literature Teacher
g.white@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts, Major English and American Studies

  • Colby College, Waterville, Maine, USA

Elyse Krachman

English Language and Literature Teacher
e.krachman@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts, Magna Cum Laude

  • Major in English

  • Minor in TESOL

  • Minor in Pre-professional Secondary Education

  • Master of Arts in Teaching, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

Nathaniel Plass

English Language and Literature Teacher / Golden Lions Block Leader
n.plass@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts, Major English and Literature

  • Minors Russian Studies and Secondary Education, Luther College, North-eastern Iowa, USA

Tyler Davis

English Language and Literature Teacher /11th Grade dean
t.davis@acs.bg
  • Bachelor of Science

  • Major Communication Arts and Literature

  • St Cloud State University, Minessota, USA

Anna Tang

ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE TEACHER
tang@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor in Arts (Honors)

  • Major: English Language and Literature

  • Minor: Mathematics

  • Bachelor in Education

  • Major in Intermediate-Senior

  • Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada

Cameron Knight

ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE TEACHER
c.knight@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Science (Honours), Major English Language and Literature

  • Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada

  • Bachelor in Education

  • Major Intermediate-Senior

  • Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada

Mark Jervis

English Language and Literature Teacher
m.jervis@ascbg.org
  • Master’s Degree: Professional Writing

  • Major: Narrative Non-Fiction

  • Professional Qualification: CELTA qualified ESL Teacher

Electives

College Life newspaper, Grades 10-12
Phoenix News newsroom, Grades 9-12