Science Department

Krasimira Chakarova Ph.D.

Department Chair / Physics Teacher
k.chakarova@acsbg.org
  • Ph.D. in Nuclear Physics

  • Master of Science, Major Nuclear Technology

  • Professional Qualification Physicist and Teacher in Physics and Astronomy

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Christian Youngs

Physics and Astronomy Teacher / Prep Science Teacher
c.youngs@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Science

  • Major Earth Sciences

  • University of Michigan, USA

Pavlina Ivanova

Chemistry Teacher
p.ivanova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Science, Major Chemist-engineer

  • Professional Qualification Teacher in chemistry and Environmental protection

  • University in Chemical Technology and Metallurgy – Sofia

Silvia Rousseva

Physics Teacher
s.rousseva@acsbg.org
  • Master of Science

  • Major Solid State Physics

  • Professional Qualifications Teacher in physics and astronomy and Teacher in English language and literature in secondary schools

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Vanya Angelova

Physics Teacher
v.angelova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Science, Major Physics

  • Professional Qualification Teacher in physics and astronomy

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Diana Vladimirova

Chemistry Teacher
d.praznikova@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Science

  • Major Chemistry and informatics

  • Professional Qualification Teacher in Chemistry and Informatics

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

  • Master of Science

  • Major Forensic and Industrial Bioanalytical Techniques

  • London Metropolitan University, UK

Ganka Dineva Ph.D.

Biology Teacher
g.dineva@acsbg.org
  • PhD in Developmental Genetics, Bergen University, Norway

  • Master of Science in Molecular Biology and Human Genetics

  • Minor Human and Animal Physiology

  • Professional qualification Pedagogy in Biology

  • Sofia University, Bulgaria

Bernard Hofmann

Biology Teacher / 10th Grade dean
b.hofmann@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts (Curriculum and Instruction), San Diego State University

  • Bachelor of Education (Senior Biology and Physical Education), University of British Columbia

  • Bachelor of Physical Education (Outdoor Pursuits), University of Calgary

Cindy Lee

Chemistry Teacher
c.lee@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Science (Honors), Major in Chemistry, Minor in Mathematics

  • Bachelor in Education

  • Major in Intermediate-Senior

  • Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada

Olivia Weller

Biology Teacher
o.weller@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Science (Honors)

  • Major in Biology

  • Bachelor in Education

  • Major in Intermediate-Senior

  • Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada

Atanas Ivanov

Lab Assistant
a.ivanov@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Science, Major Aquaculture

  • Master of Science, Major Aquaculture

  • Trakia University, Bulgaria

Hristina Grancharova

Chemistry Teacher
h.grancharova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Science

  • Majors: Chemistry and Informatics; Teacher in Chemistry

  • Master of Science

  • Majors: Chemistry; Polymers

  • Bachelor of Science

  • Major: Computer Chemistry

Hoda Ebrahimi

Biology Teacher
h.ebrahimi@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Science

  • Major: Biology

  • Minor: Psychology

  • Ryerson University

  • Master of Teaching

  • General Science and Senior Biology

  • University of Toronto, Canada

William Tyler

Chemistry Teacher
w.tyler@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: Biology

  • Lawrence University of Wisconsin, USA

Desislava Marinova

Chemistry Intern Teacher
d.marinova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Science

  • Major: Chemistry

  • Sofia University "St. Kliment Ohridski"

  • Master's Degree

  • Chemistry Pedagogy

  • Sofia University "St. Kliment Ohridski"

Courses

Science - Grade 8
Biology – Grades 9, 10, and 11
Biology International – Grade 9
Chemistry and the Environment – Grades 9, 10, and 11
Chemistry and the Environment Profile – Grades 10, 11, and 12
Chemistry International – Grade 10
Physics and Astronomy – Grades 9, 10, and 11
Physics and Astronomy Profile – Grades 10, 11, and 12
Physics International – Grade 10
IB Standard Level Biology – Grades 11 and 12
 
AP and SATII preparation in Biology, Elective – Grades 10 and 11
AP and SATII preparation in Chemistry, Elective – Grades 10 and 11
AP and SATII preparation in Physics, Elective – Grades 10 and 11